A Polysyllabic Spree of my own


Here goes another derivative reading experiment: A friend loaned me The Polysyllabic Spree, a collection of essays on reading, by Nick Hornby.  At the beginning of each essay Hornby makes two lists, "Books Bought" and "Books Read." My friend suggested I try something similar: keep a book journal, since I am already pursuing the 100 novels project, an idea I appropriated from novelist Jane Smiley. So, really, I’m announcing that basically I’m adding an element to that project.

I periodically go on book buying sprees, as I did this weekend, with every intention of reading every book I buy. So not only will I tell you which books I’ve bought this month, I’ll periodically comment on the ones I’m reading, not just the novels in my 100 novels project, since I’m not just reading novels and usually read more than one book at a time. Like Hornby, my buying and reading probably won’t always match up, but we’ll see.

Anyhow, here are the books I bought this weekend:

  • Specimen Days by Michael Cunningham 
  • Guided Tours of Hell by Francine Prose
  • How to be Good by Nick Hornby
  • Horseman, Pass By by Larry McMurtry

 

Leave a Reply

