A Brief Update


It’s been some time since I’ve posted. I’ve moved to a new place, and have new Internet service (dial-up now after four years of DSL).

But, despite the move, I’ve still been reading. In the past few weeks for my 100-novels reading project I’ve read Dracula by Bram Stoker and The Beautiful Room Is Empty by Edmund White. For the next book on the list, I’ve started The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Other reads have included The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion, an important book for me to have read because it deals with grief, and book I wish I had read earlier. Having in the past three years lost both parents, I could recognize myself in Didion as she struggled with the loss of her husband John Gregory Dunne, although I feel I haven’t adjusted to the loss I’ve experienced as well as Didion seems to have done. If you haven’t read this memoir, I have to recommend it, especially if you’ve recently have lost someone close to you.

I have a lot more I want to write about Didion’s book, as well as White’s novel. I hope to make some time here soon to do so, once I finish unpacking and shelving books. Who said moving was easy?

Leave a Reply

