Booking Through Thursday: Conditioning


This week’s Booking Through Thursday question:

Are you a spine breaker? Or a dog-earer? Do you expect to keep your books in pristine condition even after you have read them? Does watching other readers bend the cover all the way round make you flinch or squeal in pain?

Because I buy or mooch a lot of used books, I don’t expect my books to be in pristine condition. But, even in the case of used books, I try to find ones that are in decent condition. Of course, used books, especially older paperbacks, no matter their condition, sometimes crack, lose pages, and fall apart.

As far as hardbacks go, I try to keep new ones in relatively good shape, only cracking the spine if it’s too stiff to read the book. The one thing I do try to preserve are the dust jackets, which is difficult, especially in moves.

I don’t dog-ear my books. I use a bookmark, and lately Post-It notes to tag spots I want to go back to. And yes, I also underline passages and make notes in the margin.

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Conditioning

  1. My answer was similar to yours. I also like Post-it notes – they’re great for marking interesting passages. I even use different colors – one color for quotes to remember, another for plot developments, another to keep track of characters. All my books end up with a fringe of multi-colored markers by the time I’m finished reading!

Leave a Reply

