Booking Through Thursday: Celebrity Memoirs


Here is this week’s Booking Through Thursday:

Do you read celebrity memoirs? Which ones have you read or do you want to read? Which nonexistent celebrity memoirs would you like to see?

I’m going to sound like a total snob here, but no, NO, NO and NO to celebrity memoirs. Largely this has to do with a disdain for celebrity culture, especially current movie/music stars. I hear enough about celebrities from television or on the radio. Plus I suspect most are ghostwritten. The gossip aspect doesn’t appeal to me. There are also certain celebrities who seem to show disdain for books, at least one, Kanye West, whom I would hope to never hear from again.

If some celebrity were to, say, write a memoir that actually illuminates a real aspect of his or her life buried underneath the glitz and glitter, then maybe. 

Anyhow, all of you .  .  . just leave Britney alone (sob!), please please please please leave Britney alone ! (sob!)

5 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Celebrity Memoirs

    • @ CathrynG: i couldn’t agree with you more.

      @ Mish: it sounds as if the books you read were about actual experiences and not 100,000-word press releases.

      @Tina: I’m glad you thought it was funny. Funny is what I was going for.

  1. I share the same disdain about celebrity culture. First and foremost, they’re people like anyone else. The few autobiographies I read were more than just “I was born…” and Enquirer fodder. They had Content and something Real to say.

  2. Aside from being personal and insightful, they had other merits. Meat Loaf’s To Hell and Back talked about the music industry and its politics in the early 80s. Betty DeGeneres’s Love, Ellen is about the relationship between parents and their children and acceptance. I would have read the few memoirs I have regardless of whether I was familiar with the author or not.

Leave a Reply

