Booking Through Thursday: If I Had My Druthers


Here is this week’s Booking Through Thursday:
Which do you prefer? (Quick answers–we’ll do more detail at some later date)

Reading something frivolous? Or something serious?
Serious

Paperbacks? Or hardcovers?
Paperbacks for convenience and relative inexpensiveness

Fiction? Or Nonfiction?
Fiction mostly, but a great piece of nonfiction is a great read.

Poetry? Or Prose?
Prose.

Biographies? Or Autobiographies?
A difficult choice. Each really depends on the subject.

History? Or Historical Fiction?
History. I can think of maybe one piece of historical fiction that I’ve liked and that’s Stephen Harrigan’s The Gates of the Alamo.

Series? Or Stand-alones?
Stand-alones.

Classics? Or best-sellers?
Classics.

Lurid, fruity prose? Or straight-forward, basic prose?
Straight forward. 

Plots? Or Stream-of-Consciousness?
Plots, but I’m not afraid of Virginia Woolf

Long books? Or Short?
Beyond 400 pages really has to be a page-turner or written in the 19th century to hold my attention. So, Infinite Jest is not on my list. But that’s because I really don’t care for the late Mr. Wallace’s fiction.

Illustrated? Or Non-illustrated?
It doesn’t matter. I have some old editions of books that are illustrated and  the illustrations are nice pieces on their own.

Borrowed? Or Owned?
Prefer to own, but love the library, too.

New? Or Used?
Actually used, because I’m a cheapo.Also because I tend to look for books that may or may not be on the new shelves any longer But, I love new books, especially when they are gifts.

One thought on “Booking Through Thursday: If I Had My Druthers

Leave a Reply

