Booking Through Thursday: Would I Lie To You?


Here is this week’s Booking Through Thursday:

Two-thirds of Brits have lied about reading books they haven’t. Have you? Why? What book?

I must confess: Mistakes were made. I did not have relations with The Scarlett Letter or To Kill A Mockingbird in high school. Of course that depends on what “to read” is, doesn’t it?

I mean, if by “to read” you mean reading the Cliff’s Notes, then, yes, I have read The Scarlett Letter. I mean, isn’t that reading? All the characters are there. The plot. The symbols. The Puritans being jerks. All that stuff your English teacher wants you to know and spew back to her on a multiple choice test.

And To Kill A Mockingbird? Technically, isn’t a film a “text”? I think the kids learn that in grad school these days, don’t they? So, I read the text of the film. I mean, how can you not imagine Atticus Finch as anyone other than Gregory Peck?

And remember: it was high school. There were better thing to do than read books that had really long sentences and semicolons in them, right?

And,  I’ve since redeemed myself on one count. I must confess to having relations with To Kill A Mockingbird multiple times now, including a recent encounter. And it was delightful. It really was. Wink, wink. Nudge, nudge.

And, I’ve read, really read Ulysses. Trust me. It’s long and takes about half a semester in a graduate course on Joyce. So there.

Now, where’s a good cigar?

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Would I Lie To You?

  1. Too funny. I missed The Scarlett Letter by a few weeks when my family moved my 10th grade year. I don’t desire to read it. To Kill a Mockingbird was never assigned as far as I know. I read it only a couple years ago. I wish I’d read it much sooner. I’d seen the movie as a kid. As fine a film as it is, it does not begin to replace the book. Of course, that is almost always the case, I find.

Leave a Reply

