Booking Through Thursday: Year’s Favorites


Here is this week’s Booking Through Thursday:

What were your favorite books of the year? (Books that were new to you in 2009, if not necessarily published this year.)

Well, I was going to do a Top 10, but it turns out I’ve read 13 books that I really liked this year, so here is my Top 13 list — though not in the order read, or in any other order.

  1. Where Men Win Glory by Jon Krakauer
  2. Returning to Earth by Jim Harrison
  3. The English Major by Jim Harrison
  4. Janeology by Karen Harrington
  5. Evacuation Plan by Joe O’Connell
  6. Making a Literary Life by Carolyn See
  7. Bigfoot Dreams by Francine Prose
  8. The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien
  9. Write Away by Elizabeth George
  10. WLT: A Radio Romance by Garrison Keillor
  11. The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx
  12. Revision by David Michael Kaplan
  13. Tell It Slant by Brenda Miller and Suzanne Paola
6 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Year’s Favorites

  1. The Things They Carried is on my list of all-time favorite books. I am planning to re-visit his novel In the Lake of the Woods in January…I hope it is as good as I remember!

  2. Been meaning to stop by and thank you for the nice mention of my book! πŸ™‚ I enjoyed The English Major, too. And The Things They Carried is one of my all-time faves.

    Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

