Booking Through Thursday: Gifts, Giving and Good Reading


Here is this week’s Booking Through Thursday:

What books did you get for Christmas (or whichever holiday you may have celebrated last month)? Do you usually ask for books on gift-giving occasions or do you prefer to buy them yourself?

This Christmas’s literary contribution included The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson, which was one of my gifts to my wife. Post-Christmas spending to boost the economy included a purchase of a used paperback set of  The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy trilogy, all four books in the original series (get it? four books in a trilogy . . . ah, that Douglas Adams, what a card!).

Generally I like receiving money to buy books, but if you want to give me a book, I’ll read it. So give. I’ll read it and appreciate it. Really, I will.

3 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Gifts, Giving and Good Reading

  1. Love Douglas Adams and all his “Hitchhiker” books. I think book store gift cards are really the best gifts, but I also love it when someone chooses a book for me – it’s always interesting to see what they think I’ll like.

Leave a Reply

