Booking Through Thursday: First Books


Here is the latest Booking Through Thursday:

What is the first book you remember reading? What about the first that made you really love reading?

At the moment, the first book that comes to mind is Robert Louis Stevenson’s Treasure Island, a book my grandmother gave me. Then there was probably also Tom Sawyer, also a gift from my grandmother’s library. But, if I were to check the dates on those books (she signed and dated the books she gave me), they’d probably date to the mid to late seventies. Which would make me about 8 to 10 years old.

Obviously, I had learned to read before then, and I know had learned to love reading before then. My love of reading probably formed when my dad taught me to read the Sunday funnies. I associate much of my love of reading with my family, and with my dad especially.

Some of the best times with him were stops for Cokes on Sunday walks at a convenience store. At the store were those great wire racks of comics. I usually ended up with a Coke and a funny book — as dad called them. I read comics voraciously.

4 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: First Books

  1. I can’t recall my first book but I do recall that, I was hooked on Enid Blyton. She, in a way, has influenced my interest in Crime fiction.

    Then I used to devour the Nancy Drew books along with Hardy Boys. However, but those came much later.

    Here is my BTT: First Time post!

    • It may have been a can Coke, although my grandfather had a Coke machine at his feed store that sold bottle drinks.

      Anyhow, I’m reading Alan Dean Foster at the moment, and he was also a childhood favorite. Had a copy of his novelization of Star Wars, and read it before I ever saw the movie. Later George Lucas would add his byline to the novel.

  2. Ah yes, I read Treasure Island twice now to my little girl (she’s 6). I was a late bloomer in the reading world; my first loves: Lord of the Flies, then She’s Come Undone, Treasure Island, and the book I love most–Hula by Lisa Shea. I’ll never get over it.

Leave a Reply

