Booking Through Thursday: Reading questions


Here’s this week’s Booking Through Thursday:

1. Favorite childhood book?

Comic books. Batman and Sgt. Rock.

2. What are you reading right now?

The Tar-Aiym Krang by Alan Dean Foster

3. What books do you have on request at the library?

None

4. Bad book habit?

Getting a big stack of to-reads on the night table, and then looking for more books.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?
Nothing

6. Do you have an e-reader?
No

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
I try to read one at a time. But, it never works that way. I usually end up reading several books at one time.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
No. Now I just get a chance to spout my opinions on the Internet. It’s so good the Internet is on computers now.

9. Least favorite book you read this year (so far?)
I can’t recall a terrible read so far, but I wasn’t really entertained by Layover in Dubai by Dan Fesperman, and Ian McEwan’s Solar.

10. Favorite book you’ve read this year?
The last read was pretty good: The Moth Factory by Iain Banks

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?
I don’t really know if I have a “comfort zone” when it comes to reading. Then again, I haven’t voluntarily picked out any algebra textbooks to read for pleasure lately.

12. What is your reading comfort zone?
See above.

13. Can you read on the bus?
I don’t ride the bus.

14. Favorite place to read?
In my bedroom.

15. What is your policy on book lending?

I will, but I have to have some sense that I’ll get the book back.

16. Do you ever dog-ear books?
I try not to. I have in the past. But I didn’t inhale.

17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books?
Yes. When the conversation is engaging.

18.  Not even with text books?
See above

19. What is your favorite language to read in?
Unfortunately, I only know English.

20. What makes you love a book?
Good characters, living settings, language. A sense the writer cared enough to craft the very best he or she could.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?
See above

22. Favorite genre?
I don’t have a particular favorite, although at the moment I’m reacquainting myself with science fiction.

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?)
See above

Favorite biography?
Hemingway by Kenneth Lynn

25. Have you ever read a self-help book?
Yes. Honestly some are insightful, especially those written by qualified professionals.

26. Favorite cookbook?
The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Cooking

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?
I can’t think of anything right off that was all that inspiring.

28. Favorite reading snack?

Dry red wine.

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.
The last time I had that happen it was reading Stones of Summer by Dow Mossman.

30. How often do you agree with critics about a book?
50/50 maybe.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
I try to find something good, but sometimes there are books so bad you have to warn people away from them.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose?
Spanish. That’s the second language I know the most about.

33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read?
Ulysses

34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?
I can’t see myself ever getting through all the volumes of Proust.

35. Favorite Poet?
Rilke

36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time?
1-3 on average

37. How often have you returned book to the library unread?
Not often, although I sometimes return them not fully read.

38. Favorite fictional character?
Brett Ashley from The Sun Also Rises

39. Favorite fictional villain?
Darth Vader

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation?
Something with less than 300 pages

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading.
A day or so.

42. Name a book that you could/would not finish.
No matter how often I’ve tried, I can’t get past the first few pages of Gravity’s Rainbow.

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
Noise. Especially children.

44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel?
Sideways and Apocalypse Now

45. Most disappointing film adaptation?
Almost all the ones from Hemingway novels — too literal.

46. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time?
up in the $100 range

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?
pretty often

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through?
boring characters, unsatisfying setting. A writer who clearly hasn’t put 100 percent into the book.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized?
I try

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them?
Keep. I’m sort of Gollum-like with this. Although at the same time I’m getting better at letting go.

51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding?
Probably

52. Name a book that made you angry.
Brightsided by Barbara Ehrenreich. Not what she had written but what she had revealed about how pervasive the cult of positive thinking is in American culture.

53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?
Can’t think of one right off hand

54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t?
Sideways

55. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading?
Science fiction

3 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Reading questions

Leave a Reply

