Booking Through Thursday: Books, Books, and More Books


OK, it’s been a long time since I rock-and-rolled with Booking Through Thursday, so here it goes again:

What’s the largest your personal library has ever been? What’s the greatest number of books you’ve ever owned at one time? (Estimates are fine.)

Is your collection NOW the biggest it’s ever been? Or have you down-sized?

What’s the fewest number of books you’ve ever owned (not counting your pre-reading years)?

My estimate is that my library, at its largest, probably hit 400 books — I’ve never counted.

My best estimate now is that it ranges around 300 books, maybe  more, maybe less. I’ve sold and traded some during recent moves, although I’ve also bought some, too.

I’d probably have to say, oddly enough, I had the fewest books when I was in college. Textbooks, of course, I didn’t keep. And sometimes I sold back stuff I liked for necessities like beer.

Then again, maybe I had a pretty decent library then, too. Perhaps it only seemed small because most of the books I had were paperbacks, and they don’t take up as much room.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Books, Books, and More Books

  1. I’ve downsized but it’s still too large–and I keep buying books! I swore to throw away two for every one bought but haven’t held to it after my wife found out it was HER books I was jettisoning first.

Leave a Reply

