Booking Through Thursday: The books I carry, or the books that carry me


Here is this week’s Booking Through Thursday:

Do you carry books with you when you’re out and about in the world?

And, do you ever try to hide the covers?

Yes, I carry books when I’m out and about. Of late, when I go to substitute teach, along with my lunch in my backpack, I carry Year’s Best SF 12 to read on my breaks.

It’s a short story anthology from 2006 and includes Nancy Kress, Joe Haldeman, and Ian MacLeod.

Short stories are really good for the hour or so of planning period time I usually have available for myself. Much better than reading the same copy of Wired or Time or Newsweek found in the teacher’s lounge.

No, I don’t hide the covers of books I carry around, unless it’s a big stack in the shopping bag from the bookstore I’ve bought them from.

One thought on “Booking Through Thursday: The books I carry, or the books that carry me

  1. Yes I carry books with me everywhere! There in my car, in my purse–my purses are literally getting bigger and bigger because as I buy them I revel at how many books I can squeeze in there. I, too, love short story collections–Holly Goddard Jones, Nadine Gordimer, Susan Minot, Steve Millhauser, and the Scribner Anthology of short fiction is outstanding. Can’t say that I’ve ever hid book covers from anyone…

Leave a Reply

