Sunday Salon: Where’d You Get That Point of View

Most of my reading today has been sample edits by a professional editing service of the first chapter of my novel.

A chief, and valid criticism, is my switching of point of view. It’s a common criticism of beginning novelists: break switches in point of view into sections or chapters, and, if possible, use only one point of view.

Given that I have two narrative lines, I will have to separate the shifts into sections or chapters.  Of course, I’ve also been noodling with the idea of switching POV from third to first person and setting the narrative up like Audrey Niffenegger does in The Time Traveler’s Wife.

But, I’m uncomfortable using first person narrative as a writer, even when the narrator is completely unlike myself.

This week POV seems to have been a theme of my readings: I wrote about the use of second person in Jay McInerney’s Bright Lights, Big City, and I know that POV is one of the most important aspects of a story; it affects the whole perception of the narrative.

Getting that sample edit has been great. It has kept me thinking about my book and has given me the urge to think about fiction again, and writing and taking another look at my novel. I worked on it for two years and the edits have given me insight into the novel. I hope I am able to afford to work with this service on my full manuscript.

#

Editor’s Note: This post has been written as part of Sunday Salon.